the perks of being a wallflower

It was just an accident.  Me and my older sister were just strolling in a mall searching for a special restaurant where we could have our dinner (my treat) that night when we passed by the cinema area.  Then I saw this huge movie poster entitled “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and first I’ve noticed in the picture was Emma Watson, from the movie Harry Potter series. She’s all grown up now, so pretty, and she’s beside a cute boy and how I loved the movie poster which included some profound lines uttered in the movie like:

“If somebody likes me, I want them to like the real me, not what they think I am. And I don’t want them to carry it around inside. I want them to show me, so I can feel it, too.”

I love this quote.  The one that sparked my curiosity to one day see this in a theatre.

The movie was still “Next Attraction” so I swore that once it is shown, I will watch it.  The movie is based on a critically-acclaimed novel of the same title by Stephen Chbosky so I decided to check out its written version first before I see the movie, while it was not yet being shown.

I won’t deny it, the book made me cry.  There’s just a part in the story where it really dredge up the sorrow that I’ve been feeling for somebody that I thought was a friend, and I just cried. I never thought the hurt is that deep until I cried.  There is a happy, touching part in the story which reminded me of the opposite that happened to me and this other person. I thought I have no issue about that past incident.  I thought they would go away if I ignore them.  They didn’t.  Because I saw myself that day crying about it.  It was a release of some sort.

So when I saw its beautiful movie trailer on TV, I got so excited.  I watched it last Saturday.  It was nice but it underwent too much editing and little changes in the storyline because a lot of stuff in the book aren’t uttered or included in the movie for the sake of brevity.  As a result, the movie became the wholesome version of the book which was a little disappointing.  But the good vibes were there.  The movie was good.  But the book is better.

“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” is a story about growing up and facing one’s insecurities.  It’s also a story of a boy who forces himself to “participate” in life instead of being a detached observer of life’s happenings.

Here is the movie trailer.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Leave a Reply

