the good news

Unpleasant and terrible things do happen.  So let it not stop us from appreciating the pleasant and beautiful things that do happen.  Like–

Drew-and-Iya-48

I am so happy to learn that Drew Arellano and Iya Villania finally tied the iya and drewknot after nine years of being together.  Drew is a host of my favorite TV program “Balik-bayan” which now became “Biyahe ni Drew” and Iya Villania is an actress/singer/dancer. I am this positively affected because I like Drew, in fact he’s my TV crush, and I also like Iya, because she’s one of the most beautiful faces in showbiz whose personality complement that of Drew.  They’re both lucky to have each other.

images

I am also awed and entertained by the enthusiasm and gracefulness Michael Christian Martinez has shown during his exhibition in figure Michael+Christian+Martinez+Winter+Youth+Olympic+zPL2lVMJkg7lskating at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Russia.  To be honest, I didn’t know there was an Olympic going on (because I wasn’t reading the paper nor watching the TV) until my younger brother told me so.  So late in the evening until around 2 o’clock in the morning, my brother and I would still be awake just to catch his performance on ice.  And what’s fascinating about Michael was that he seemed not to care about the ranking.  The way I saw him in each of his performances, he was just simply happy to skate and proud to represent his country, our country, the Philippines–a  country that doesn’t snow. He is the first skater from Southeast Asia to qualify for Olympics and the first Filipino figure skater.  And he’s only 17 years old!  He didn’t win a gold medal, even a bronze, and he finished 19th in the overall ranking, but I won’t ever forget that smile he flashed after his every performance, win or lose.

 

Leave a Reply

