a lesson from the rice stalks

One day, I was walking with an old farmer-guide during one of my village mission trips in Abra.  As we passed by the ricefields, I pointed at the tall rice stalks that swayed in the wind.  I told the farmer how bountiful the harvest would be that year.  The farmer, without even looking at the rice stalks, taught me a lesson I could never forget.

“Father,” he said, “those rice stalks that stand tall and straight are empty and have nothing.  It is those which are bent and lowly that are heavy with grain…”

–Taken from the book “Moments… (Reflections, Experiences, Stories, Thoughts)” by Fr. Jerry M. Orbos, SVD

Leave a Reply

