asong pinoy

Purebreed dogs from abroad come in so many varieties and names:  Shih Tzu, Dachshund, Japanese Spitz, German Spitz, Chihuahua, Pitbull, German Shepherd, Doberman, Rottweiler, Beagle, Chow Chow, Labrador Retriever, Siberian Husky, Boxer, Pug, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Dalmatian, Alaskan Malamute, Great Dane, Bulldog, Collie, Poodle, Yorkshire Terrier and so on and so forth.

I wonder why when it comes to dogs in the Philippines–whatever shape, personality, size, and color–they’re only simply called as askal or asong kalye, which I find quite an abrasive, negative, lowly word.  Now I hear this word “aspin” or asong pinoy to gently refer to all different types of dogs that aren’t imported.  In other words, local.  Askals/Aspins, I believe they, too, should have a name.

Anyway, if I’m going to follow the norm in name-calling, my family and I have two aspins.  I used the word “aspins” because we don’t let them roam the street so they’re not technically askals (asong kalye), they just stay at home or if they need exercise, to make poopoo, they can go outside since we have a fenced yard.  We named our two aspins Bea and Douglas.  Bea’s six months old while Douglas just turned three months.  Bea’s the hyper, high energy one, athletic, while Douglas is the low energy, inggitero/envious one.  He likes whatever Bea has.  But both of them are intelligent and loving in their own kind of way.

Old dog, new dog, thank God they’re living together in peaceful co-existence.  Just sharing that I am a proud owner of two aspins/dogs who I love spending time with and learning from than some people I know.

2.2015a

2.2015b

2.2015c

 

Leave a Reply

