on success

“The day I started becoming successful was the day I stopped trying to be successful.

“Don’t chase the fame and the fortune and the adoration.  The only thing you chase after is your love for music.  You make music because you love it.  The moment you stop trying to be successful and chase music because you love it, everything will happen.

“That doesn’t necessarily mean that you’ll be Taylor Swift or Coldplay, but you’ll enjoy your life more because you’re making your music. I stopped wanting to be famous, I stopped wanting to get signed and all that, I was like, fuck that, I was going to make music I want to make.  As soon as I did that, everyone was getting interested.  I think you just do it for yourself and not for anyone else.”

-Ed Sheeran

Leave a Reply

