Next to teachers, the people that I admire most are musicians

And it all began when I became a fan of the ’90s Filipino alternative rock band, Eraserheads, composed of Ely Buendia (rhythm guitar), Marcus Adoro (lead guitar), Buddy Zabala (bass guitar), and Raimund Marasigan (drums).  They’ve disbanded a long time ago, each of them has moved on their separate ways, successful in their own ways.  Still, no one can take away from me how they affected me in such a positive way, and how they’ve opened my mind and heart to other genres of music, from ethnic to heavymetal, from local to foreign. Because before, it was just the Beatles that I like until I discovered Pearl Jam and my life has never been the same again. Then I discovered Counting Crows, Collective Soul, a lot of wonderful bands creating their own music.

Alright, I knew about Def Leppard, Motley Crue, Spandau Ballet, Paul Anka, Connie Francis, Dingdong Avanzado, Lea Salonga, new wave, these different genres all because of what my parents, older siblings listened to in the old days.  I was just welcoming and receiving their different tastes in music. But it was when I had my first Eraserheads experience after seeing them perform in Martin After Dark, that was the first moment in my life that I took the liberty of choosing my own kind of music. And it was the music of the Eraserheads that was my first choice, that took the first slot in my heart as a teenager who uses music for inspiration to continue moving forward. Again, the music of the Eraserheads represents a part of my past that was memorable.  Because they were there.

This post is sort of a tribute to the Eraserheads who jumpstarted the second golden age of Philippine music that happened in the ’90s. The first was in the ’70s, I wonder when will be the third? Anyway, here goes:

Exif_JPEG_420

Made this when I was in 3rd year high school (1993). Putting colors around the black and white photo of the members of Eraserheads clearly signified my euphoria for the band. Looking at this now at 37, it’s so ugly, haha.

Exif_JPEG_420

This is what’s inside the folder. This photo essay about the Eraserheads came out in Philippine Daily Inquirer. This is the first time that PDI featured the Eraserheads. (Circa 1993)

 Exif_JPEG_420

At the back of my Eraserheads folder/collage. My first act of being an Eraserheads fan.

 Exif_JPEG_420

1997 PDI feature on the Eraserheads. Going steady with their success as a band.

 Exif_JPEG_420
More articles written about the band by Eric S. Caruncho, Catherine Jane Yao, Claire Agbayani-Isidro, and C.H. Pardo.
Exif_JPEG_420

That’s artist Mark Justiniani at the center who did the artwork/album designs for Eraserheads’ Circus album.

Exif_JPEG_420

My other collected articles about the Eraserheads back in the ’90s.

Exif_JPEG_420

I was strongly fascinated about rock bands–both local and foreign– when I was younger because I get positive vibes just by listening to their music. And a lot of times, listening to their music made me feel that I am not alone. These bands/musicians when I get to see them perform taught me about what wholehearted perfomance really meant. I learned that subliminally from them. And it’s something that I try to apply in my work in the office. Giving your all because doing your job well is a reward in itself.

Exif_JPEG_420My cut-out article on Color It Red by Eric S. Caruncho. (Sunday Inquirer Magazine, 1995)

Exif_JPEG_420Other pinay rockers: Keltscross and Velocity Girls. (Sunday Inquirer Magazine, 1994)

Leave a Reply

