Para kay Mang Per

(Originally posted in Facebook)

My June 18 post on Mang Per has been shared, as of this time, 1,288 times which I am happy about because it only means I have fulfilled Mang Per’s wish to be written about in Facebook though I have no idea how far my post has travelled. If he only knew, if he only have read them, a lot of people are writing and talking about him just anywhere online. However, because of my post on Mang Per, I’m also receiving friend requests from people I don’t know which, for my safety, I have to ignore. My only goal really is just to fulfill Mang Per’s request to write about him at i-post ang pictures nya sa Facebook. And masaya na ako doon. I also didn’t expect getting personal messages from strangers which took me sometime to reply to. And one of those strangers is this Facebook user, a photographer, under the name Drugstore Filmlab, who sent me his photo of Mang Per. He doesn’t want to reveal his identity but he has his own story to tell about Mang Per.
______________

Hi. Nakita ng tropa ko yung post mo sa feeds nya, tas naalala nya si Mang Per kaya ayun, sinend sa akin, tas naalala ko na may picture pala ko nya nung araw na nameet namin sya.

Natuwa nga ko dun sa post mo. Parang bigla akong nagkaconnection kay Mang Per sa di inaasahang pangyayari. Ang galing lang.

Hindi ko sya kilala personally, pero nakausap ko sya one time sa U.P. about analog photography. Actually, biglaan lang namin sya na-meet. Nagshoshoot kasi kami sa may U.P. noon, tas nagpahinga kami dun sa may inuupuan nya, tas nakita nya na may dala kaming film cameras. Ayun, nagkakwentuhan. Nakwento nga nya na may mga Nikon film cameras daw sya na binenta na raw nya ng mura sa mga photography students.

Share ko lang yung underexposed kong picture sa kanya. Siguro mga bandang January or February ‘ata yan, kung di ako nagkakamali. I hope na umokay na yung kalagayan nya. Nagdadalawang isip pa nga ko kung ishashare ko pa sa ‘yo yung litrato pero since nabasa ko yung shinare mo, ayun. Sinend ko na para rin sa memory at experience na nakasalamuha ko rin si Mang Per, kahit saglit lang.

~From a guy named Drugstore Filmlab

Mang Per3

Update: Mang Per left the hospital on the night of June 18, Saturday, a day after our visit. He’s now staying in his younger brother’s house in Pasig.

Leave a Reply

