Rediscovering Gary V.

I bought this first album of Gary Valenciano on 23 December 2004, my only physical album of Gary Valenciano’s music. I know the date of purchase because I’d always put a date when I buy a book or CD (or cassette tape in the old days) together with my name in handwriting. It is a reissue of the first album of Gary V., what many affectionately calls him. As soon as I saw it on the rack, I took it to the cashier to buy. I just could not believe it is that long, I thought I only had it in 2010s or a few years ago.

“Gary,” the first album from 1984, contains ten songs: You Got Me Working, Betty’s in Bed, Love of Mine, After All, Drives Me Mad, ‘Cause You Cause Me, Hurry, Hang On, Stolen Moments, and A Fool Till the End (the last song is a song for his wife).

I never had a Gary V. album before since I do not consider myself a fan. But I do like his music. I mean, who wouldn’t like any of his songs? Can’t forget that moment when I checked my older sister’s things to borrow from her (sometimes without her knowing, it’s just there in her cabinet, anyway) the cassette tapes of the Greatest Hits I and II of Gary V.

Our TV viewing at home, the main source of entertainment back in the day (because now everything is on social media), includes watching a Gary V. concert. During those times, famous artists like Gary V.’s live successful concerts would be shown months later on TV, not complete, though, so it would still be fair for those who paid to watch the concert.

Growing up, whatever or whoever artists my older siblings liked, I like as well. And these include Gary V. I trusted the music tastes of everyone around me at home. I thought, it must be fun to be a fan of someone. I would see how my older sister would get excited, come alive seeing Gary V. sing and dance. I would get the same joy as well but less intense or quiet but in awe. I just thought, ang galing ni Gary V. Came teenage years, the Eraserheads entered the picture. And that was the first time that I experienced becoming a fan, it was indeed fun admiring someone or something that makes us excited about life whenever we hear or see them. Something that we can relate to.

I remember in 2004, Gary V. has been recognized already as an icon with so many successful concerts, albums, endorsements, awards and recognitions under his belt. But an icon also means being no longer the most sought-after or what people are looking for in a show. Icons are there to add prestige to a show. For there are new, promising ones providing us also the real, world class entertainment, providing new audiences to make the show well-attended. But an icon also means someone who got nothing more to prove but to set a good example, whose hard and polished work still wows us every now and then. Gary V. is a Filipino music icon who adapts to the times. He is celebrating his 40 years in the entertainment world or business this year with the culminating event, a big concert, at the Mall of Asia Arena on 26 and 27 April 2024.

When I say entertainment, please do not take this word lightly. For we are all going through something. Aside from the terrifying wars of domination and greed, affecting our mental health, there are personal trials that we need to cope with as humans, as individuals. Music gives us that feeling that a community that cares still exists. Like the music of Gary V. It not just entertain us, it transforms our mental, psychological, or physical state into something magical amidst harsh realities.

The past days and weeks I was having a marathon of Gary V.’s past albums to catch up on what he has done that I did not know about especially in the last decade. It made me sad that in the last two decades, most of the albums that Gary V. released were revivals. I could not blame him entirely because 2000 onwards was when cover songs and albums became so rampant. It was the sign of the times, Gary V. was adapting to the times. Can’t forget an article I read from a newspaper that Gary V. wanted to release new songs but he was discouraged to do so by producers or something, I do not remember anymore the reason. Not sure if it was because of the millennium thing, that it was the beginning of the new century making the past seemed so old and gray and needs reviving? All I know is that it was a period when I would rather listen to silence. It was when, to me, the local music industry was in a coma, I do not know what exactly happened there I could only share my observations but I remember being thirsty and hungry for OPM that it came to a point that the Aegis I once hated became one of the things I liked because they were one of the rare few making their own music despite the times.

But thank God that Gary V. did not just adapt to the times or just went with the flow, he adapts by making new arrangements every now and then to his classic, old songs to make them sound fresh to the young ones of today, to different audiences. The outcome is epic: old fans have remained loyal, after seeing all his efforts to stay relevant in the business that he loves. It is obvious that although music is a business, music is his vocation, his advocacy. As a result, his old, classic songs do not sound old. Always the first time when you hear any of them. This is the magic of Gary V. Instead of being part of the competition, Gary V. did collaboration with other artists, amateurs and professionals, old and new, popular or not.

This was apparent when I attended “Gary V: Back at the Music Museum” last 30 November 2023. It was a magical experience, you could see him almost flying with joy, obvious that the stage or performing in front of a crowd is his passion, his life. He was there entertaining us who were mostly strangers to him or people he does not know. But he made us feel like he knew each one of us, why we were there in the first place. He does not need to know our background. For a crowd in a concert is a community of human beings who are there to experience something, his presence and his music. To get away from our self-absorbed selves and watch someone at the center of our attention who seems to be a reminder that life is still beautiful and that there is more out there to see and experience. Just hang on.

This was the opening performance of his Nov 30 concert at the Music Museum (my first to see him live), you will hear my solo “wooo!” in the opening. Thank God someone from the audience took a video of this which gave me the chance again to watch it, front view, for I was sitting on the left side.

I learned that some members of the audience attended Gary V’s concert series at the Music Museum more than once or twice, proof that one can’t get enough of Gary V.

Yesterday, my younger brother asked me how long my obsession with Gary V. will last. He used the word “obsession” in a positive way, which to him means something that interest you strongly at the moment, that keeps you preoccupied or engrossed while away from work. Because I was watching his interviews, performances, vlog online. And because I was not like this before. I said matter-of-factly that it is not an obsession. It is because I have turned into a fan. I learned “Reaching Out” is his favorite Gary V. song.

I liked “Reaching Out“, too, when I was much younger, (which is a part of a soundtrack of a movie where Gary V. acted on) but now, although I liked this next one when I was younger as well, it is now “Look in Her Eyes.” I feel like Gary V. is singing to me! The song is perfection. However, because Gary V. has video recording of “Reaching Out” in 2022 on his YouTube channel, it rekindled my interest on the song. When I was at the “Gary V: Back at the Music Museum” last 30 November, when he sang this song, this was the portion that he walked towards the audience, to be near us, to serenade us with the song.

Christmas day and two days before that were spent listening to Gary V.’s first two decades of his music career. Thanks to Spotify, YouTube, and Google. I have listened also to some of his albums in the last two decades but it is the first two decades that is the most prolific for Gary V, with new songs almost every year, the ones that I find more interesting. Among Gary V’s songs, my all-time favorite is again, “Look in Her Eyes.” I remember he sang this back in 1994 to entertain the Miss Universe candidates, not on the coronation night, but during the preliminaries or behind the scenes of the pageant. I got curious from which album and what year it originated from. I also got curious with his other famous songs.

So, I went into a marathon, I listened to his each entire album that I could find online. The second and third album do not have complete album set online but I have the complete playlist so I just searched them one by one to listen to them. I consolidated here songs so you can explore or revisit from his second album from 1985 up to his last album in 1999, or before the millennium, before the revivals. I also included his two albums from 2006 and 2014 when he released new songs. I also highlighted (in blue text, so you can listen to them) my favorite tracks from each album.

Gary… Next (1985). There are 10 songs: Move Your Body, Reaching Out, Courtesy of Video, Once Upon a Life, Everything is You, Who’s Next in Line, Di Na Natuto, Pat on the Back, Goodbye My Friend, and Song to a Mother

Gary… Inside Out (1986). There are 10 songs: Power of Love, Paano, Don’t Hold Back, Could We, Ang Umiibig, More Than Just Imagination, Close Your Eyes, Beyond Control, On The Road, and ‘Wag Mo Na Sanang Isipin.

Moving Thoughts (1987). There are nine songs: Di Bale Na Lang, What More Can I Say, You Got Me Working, ‘Wag Mo Na Sanang Isipin, It’s Over, Di Na Natuto, Take Me Out of the Dark, Sana Maulit Muli, and Saturday Night.

Faces of Love (1989). There are nine songs: Mahal na Mahal Ko Siya, Each Passing Night, Narito, Eto Na Naman, Is This Love?, Laughter All The Time, Look in Her Eyes, Natutulog Ba Ang Diyos?, and Letting Go.

Shout for Joy (1991). There are eight songs: Shout for Joy, For You, Could You Be Messiah, Natutulog Ba Ang Diyos?, That’s Why, Gaya ng Dati, Letting Go, and Search & Know.

Dancing in the Moonlight (1992). There are 10 songs: Dancin’ in the Moonlight, Get On Up, Paradise 4 2, I Know What You Want, Caroline, Is This Love?, It’s Not the End of the World, Lovers and Friends (Bye Bye Baby), Time’s Up, and These Eyes.

Hataw Na (1993). There are nine songs: Hataw Na, Tara Na, Muli, Alam Ko Na, Halina, Sa Yahweh ang Sayaw, Tunay, Dinggin Ang Tawag Ko, Babalik Ka Rin, and Hataw Na (Club Mix).

Outside Looking In (1995).There are 10 songs: Look in Her Eyes, The Perfect Year, These Eyes, I Know for Sure, When the Body Talks, Surrender, Turn It Up, Paradise 4 2, Get On Up, and That’s Why.

Interactive (1999). There are 12 songs: (Everybody) Get Down, Only I, More and More, As You Are, Di Bale Na Lang, Take Me Out of the Dark, May Kasama Ka, Face to Face, Ikaw Lamang, Show Me the Way, Pampanga, (Everybody) Get Down (old skool edit), and As You Are (band version).

Relevance (2006). There are 12 songs: Wait Forever, You Gave Me Reason, Kailan Pa, Did It Forever, Only A Friend, Shake It Off, You Are, What You Want, ‘ Wag Mo Na Sanang Isipin, In Another Lifetime, Sana Bukas, and Even for a While.

With You (2014). There are 10 songs: He’s Enough, With You, Kapit Pinoy, No Mount Too High, Ngiti, Saytay, Para Sa ‘Yo Ama, The Answer, Come to Jesus, and In You.

Leave a comment